On Friday, May 22, 2020, the US Department of Commerce, Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS) announced in two separate press releases that it would be adding a number of companies and governmental entities to the Entity List.

A total of nine companies, as follows, will be added for their involvement in human rights violations in the Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous Region:

  • China’s Ministry of Public Security’s Institute of Forensic Science;

  • Aksu Huafu Textiles Co.;

  • CloudWalk Technology;

  • FiberHome Technologies Group;

  • Nanjing FiberHome Starrysky Communication Development;

  • NetPosa;

  • SenseNets;

  • Intellifusion;

  • IS’Vision.

In addition, BIS separately announced that it would be designating two dozen entities for their involvement in military activities:

  • Beijing Cloudmind Technology Co., Ltd.;

  • Beijing Computational Science Research Center;

  • Beijing Jincheng Huanyu Electronics Co., Ltd.;

  • Center for High Pressure Science and Technology Advanced Research;

  • Chengdu Fine Optical Engineering Research Center;

  • China Jiuyuan Trading Corporation;

  • Cloudminds (Hong Kong) Limited;

  • Cloudminds Inc.;

  • Harbin Chuangyue Technology Co., Ltd.;

  • Harbin Engineering University;

  • Harbin Institute of Technology;

  • Harbin Yun Li Da Technology and Development Co., Ltd.;

  • JCN (HK) Technology Co. Ltd.;

  • K Logistics (China) Limited;

  • Kunhai (Yanjiao) Innovation Research Institute;

  • Peac Institute of Multiscale Science;

  • Qihoo 360 Technology Co. Ltd.;

  • Qihoo 360 Technology Company;

  • Shanghai Nova Instruments Co., Ltd.;

  • Sichuan Dingcheng Material Trade Co., Ltd.;

  • Sichuan Haitian New Technology Group Co. Ltd.;

  • Sichuan Zhonghe Import and Export Trade Co., Ltd.

  • Skyeye Laser Technology Limited;

  • Zhu Jiejin.

Once these restrictions go into effect, the export, re-export, or in-country transfer of items subject to the Export Administration Regulations to these entities without a BIS license will be prohibited.


Authored by Anthony Capobianco, Aleksandar Dukic, Ajay Kuntamukkala, Beth Peters, Stephen Propst, Adam Berry and Andrea Fraser-Reid

Anthony Capobianco
Washington, D.C.
Aleksandar Dukic
Washington, D.C.
Ajay Kuntamukkala
Washington, D.C.
Beth Peters
Washington, D.C.
Stephen Propst
Washington, D.C.


This website is operated by Hogan Lovells International LLP, whose registered office is at Atlantic House, Holborn Viaduct, London, EC1A 2FG. For further details of Hogan Lovells International LLP and the international legal practice that comprises Hogan Lovells International LLP, Hogan Lovells US LLP and their affiliated businesses ("Hogan Lovells"), please see our Legal Notices page. © 2024 Hogan Lovells.

Attorney advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome.